Stop Repeating Yourself – SPI Files

So, we finally get to the  SPI Files novels. The series includes “Lucky Charms” (a short in the Night Shift anthology), The Grendel Affair, The Dragon Conspiracy, The Brimstone Deception, The Ghoul Vendetta, and The Myth Manifestation which came out in January.  They concern the adventures of Makenna Fraiser, Seer and agent for Supernatural Protection and Investigations, an agency protecting … Continue reading Stop Repeating Yourself – SPI Files

Don’t Get Stabbed By A Love Triangle – Raine Benares Series

As I spent most of January reading the works of Lisa Shearin I wanted to give a little more space and thought to reviewing these books than my normal "what I've been reading" posts. Then I realized that this post was getting too long itself and split it into three separate posts. So expect more … Continue reading Don’t Get Stabbed By A Love Triangle – Raine Benares Series

Call me Gary Stu – The Golden Age of the Solar Clipper books

A few weeks ago I quit a series in disgust. It started out OK but rapidly devolved into something actively painful to read. The final book I read (#6) was so bad I literally yelled at my e-reader on the train. Normally my inclination would be to focus on the good in a novel, but this blog is supposed to be about what I’m learning and I learned a lot from this series despite it’s increasing awfulness. 

X-ray Origins – The Art of X-Ray Reading

Roy Peter Clark’s The Art of X-ray Reading: How the Secrets of 25 Great Works of Literature will Improve your Writing was the other direct inspiration for this blog and probably actually better at explaining how to learn from a text than Science Fiction 101 ever was. I’m borrowing pretty heavily from his terminology so far so it’s only fair that I write about how I’m doing that before we go much further.

Give your characters something to fear – First Test and Page

A few weeks ago I was reading a book from a series who's promo text promised “Magic. Romance. Rivals. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Tamora Pierce.” And it was feeling familiar. Too familiar. Halfway into the second book I realized why - it had basically the same structure as Tamora Pierce’s Protector of the Small series. Which, in itself, is not inherently bad. But this book was doing it badly. Not awfully, just enough to be subtly, and increasingly, annoying. It got so bad I put the book down.