Writer’s Tools – Write or Die

A grab you by the seat of your pants timed writing app that is great for getting words down, just be sure to revise what you’ve written. Screeching Violins and screaming babies a bonus. Splurge for the paid version for even more options and incentives, plus the ability to backup your timed writings so you never lose a word.

X-ray Origins – The Art of X-Ray Reading

Roy Peter Clark’s The Art of X-ray Reading: How the Secrets of 25 Great Works of Literature will Improve your Writing was the other direct inspiration for this blog and probably actually better at explaining how to learn from a text than Science Fiction 101 ever was. I’m borrowing pretty heavily from his terminology so far so it’s only fair that I write about how I’m doing that before we go much further.

Writer’s Tools – Goodreads

I know what you’re thinking. Emily, isn’t Goodreads a site for readers? And you’re right. But good readers make good writers. It is hard to write without having read extensively. And it is hard to read extensively to good purpose without keeping track of things. Which is why I’m arguing that Goodreads is a tool for writers, even more than readers.

Give your characters something to fear – First Test and Page

A few weeks ago I was reading a book from a series who’s promo text promised “Magic. Romance. Rivals. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Tamora Pierce.” And it was feeling familiar. Too familiar. Halfway into the second book I realized why – it had basically the same structure as Tamora Pierce’s Protector of the Small series.

Which, in itself, is not inherently bad.

But this book was doing it badly. Not awfully, just enough to be subtly, and increasingly, annoying. It got so bad I put the book down.

What I’ve been reading – July 2017

July has been the month of new books. I was only expecting three publications this month, but in the end a total of six of my favorite authors all decided to publish something in the last month. I’m still working on how I want to format all of this. Leave a comment below and tell me if this works for you.

A Place to Start – Science Fiction 101

When I was about thirteen, I discovered in the depths of a Vroman’s bargin bin a thick* book with the title: Science Fiction 101. Well that’s clearly a book meant for me, I thought. I had only recently decided that writing was something I’d like to do and this book came with the byline “where to start reading and writing science fiction.” Perfect.

1 3 4 5 6